Your Spouse’s Love Language

March 26th, 2019 By Shannon

OK. So this one can be a doozy. Have you heard of love languages? Well everyone has them. They are how we communicate our love to one another and they are also how each of us perceives love and the way we want to be treated. In many relationships, we typically express love the way we want to wish to be expressed, love. This can cause frustration when your spouse or partner does not react in the positive way that you expect them to. This is not an issue with our sincerity but rather we are just not speaking the same love languages.

Many of you might say, well I’ve been married for “x” amount of years, I think I’d know my partner’s love language. It’s not always as simple as that. Sometimes, just affirming their love language will help spouses to have a better understanding of how to please and be pleased in their relationship. It helps couples overcome little frustrations and be more in sync with each other. So let’s get started in describing the love languages:

  1. Gift Giving

    • Do you love receiving gifts? People with this love language are not materialistic, they just appreciate the act. A gift shows them that their partner put thought and effort into the gift and shows them that their partner has been thinking about them.
  2. Words of Affirmation

    • Compliments mean the world to you. Nothing expresses love like hearing the words from your partner. You thrive on positive words and reassurance.
  3. Quality Time

    • You love any time that you get to spend with your partner. You don’t need anything else but the time you spend. Tv off, phones aside. You want them to be there but to really be there in the moment with you so you can truly enjoy their presence and their love.
  4. Physical Touch

    • This isn’t necessarily sexual. You thrive on physical touch and public displays of affection. These acts show care, concern, affection. Hand holding, hugs, kisses, pats on the back, it goes a long way.
  5. Acts of Service (Devotion)

    • This is the appreciation of your spouse taking their share of responsibilities. You thrive on the feeling when your spouse takes on more to ease the responsibilities from your plate. It shows that they are motivated and also eager to assist you when you need it.

So what love language are you? Remember that while you may have a main love language, it is still important to keep in mind the others. Your partner may be expressing his or her love for you in those other languages! This will say a lot about their own language.

“In the same way, it will benefit your partner to know your primary love language in order to best express affection for you in ways that you interpret as love. Every time you or your partner speak each other’s language, you score emotional points with one another. Of course, this isn’t a game with a scorecard! The payoff of speaking each other’s love language is a greater sense of connection. This translates into better communication, increased understanding, and, ultimately, improved romance.”


So take the quiz. Learn a little about yourself and your spouse. While you’re at it – this site has plenty of other quizzes and great resources.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons
Subscribe Now!